08
Jan
11

Happy Birthday, Cotton!

Today we celebrated our son’s 3rd birthday with family. I asked Colton what he wanted me to make for the day. He said, “Uh, macaroni.” Then, as if I didn’t know what he meant, “macaroni and cheese”. Ok, that was easy enough. I asked him what he wanted with his macaroni. “Macaroni and CHEESE.” “Yes, I know, macaroni and cheese. What do you want with your macaroni and cheese?”

“Uh, I dunno.”

“Would you like daddy to make some pork?”

“Uh, yeah.”

“Would you like to have coleslaw?”

“Uh, yeah.”

OK. I decided the menu was up to me. We had quite the spread – Kenny smoked some delicious pork and made coleslaw, while I made macaroni (and cheese, as if that wasn’t clear), cheddar biscuits, cheesy ranch potatoes, and baked beans. Kenny’s parents and my parents joined us, along with our cousins Tori and Mike and their boys. The kids had a great time, and Colton loved opening his gifts… or assigning other people to open them. I’m not sure he really understood the whole birthday concept, because anytime someone said, “Happy birthday, Colton!” he would reply, “Happy birthday to you, too!” Oh well. I guess he IS sharing. That’s something.

For dessert, we had this cake. I LOVE Dairy Queen cakes, and since the cake conversation with Colton went like this…

Me: “Do you want a regular cake, or a cookie cake, or an ice cream cake?”

Kennison (with a whisper): “You want an icicle pop cake.”

Colton: “An icicle pop cake.”

Me: “I don’t even know what that is.”

… I decided to do what was easiest and order my preference – a large DQ cake with an extra cookie/fudge layer (because that’s the BEST part). I ordered the cake over the phone and had to spell out Colton’s name for her. I told her anything Toy Story would be fine, and that my husband would pick it up the next day afer 3:00. No problem.

Kenny came home with the cake the next day, and this is what I saw:

Kenny claims he couldn’t tell that his son’s name was misspelled because the container was all foggy. That’s the story, anyway. But, since Colton doesn’t know how to spell, he was fine with it – and we all got a good laugh about it. Here are some more photos from the day.

Sweet Charlie boy... you melt my heart, child!

Birthday boy - being silly!

Playing with his new truck!

Kennison got a new puzzle from Nana, and Kennison and Grandma took some time out to put it together. Kennison LOVES puzzles!

Clearly, I did not do a good job of documenting the day in photos, but we loved having our family over to celebrate the birth of our precious son!

1 Response to “Happy Birthday, Cotton!”


  1. 1 Rachel
    January 14, 2011 at 9:11 am

    I hope you sent that in to cake wrecks!! 😉 Love all your new pictures. Can’t believe how your kids are growing and I can’t wait to see them all in February!!


Leave a Reply

Twittering away…

Blog Stats

  • 4,919 hits

Past posts

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

