04
Feb
10

Angela's Banana Bread

You know how things from your childhood always taste better than they do in the present? Doesn’t that happen to anyone? It does to me. Anyway, I love the banana bread my mom makes. I cannot enjoy anyone else’s banana bread, because it doesn’t taste as good as my mom’s recipe.

Before getting married, my sisters-in-law threw me a surprise shower where all of the guests brought recipes to share with me. They each brought two cooking recipes and their own recipe for a good marriage. My sister (only 22 at the time) did not really have any recipes to share, so she took a couple from my mom – a green dessert, which is FABULOUS (I can post that later) and my mom’s banana bread. However, the banana bread did not have a name. As I understand it, Angela asked my mom where the recipe came from, and my mom told her that Gram (my mom’s mother) had baked the same bread. (I don’t remember where Gram originally got the recipe.) Since Angela was the one providing the recipe, she named it Angela’s banana bread. While not really fair, because she did not adjust the recipe in any way and is basically taking credit for something she did not do, it is still the best banana bread in the world, and I thought you might appreciate the recipe.

Angela’s Banana Bread

2 C. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1/2 C. shortening
1 C. sugar
2 eggs
2 ripe mashed bananas
1 Tbsp. vinegar + milk to make 1/2 cup
1/2 C. chopped nuts (optional – I never use them)

Combine all ingredients and bake at 350 degrees for 60-70 minutes. I bake ours at 325 degrees because our oven runs hot.

This is wonderful! I think you’ll really enjoy it if you give it a chance…

0 Responses to “Angela's Banana Bread”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twittering away…

Blog Stats

  • 4,925 hits

Past posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

