14
Sep
09

Labor of Love

This, my friends, is a quilt.

IMG_5440

Not just any quilt, mind you. This is a three year old quilt.

I truly mean it’s 3 years old. This idea for this quilt was born in my mind over 3 years ago. I had just finished taking all the cake decorating classes offered at my local Joann’s. Tori and I were so good. Here’s a picture to prove it.

113

Ok, please keep all comments to yourselves.

Anyway, I was trying to keep busy while waiting to get “the call”: the one that meant it was finally time to travel to Vietnam to meet and adopt Kennison. So, since cake decorating was over, I decided to take up quilting. I had made a quilt once. The first quilt I ever made was for Kenny as a Christmas present the year we started dating. Yeah, we starting dating in November and I made him a quilt for Christmas the following month. It’s amazing he stuck around, huh? I distinctly remember a conversation I had with my sister in regards to finding him a gift:

Me: Angela, what should I get Kenny for Christmas? We haven’t been dating that long, but I want it to be special.
Angela: I don’t know, what do you think he’d like?
Me: I don’t know, that’s the problem. I was thinking of making him a quilt.
Angela: A quilt? Al, I don’t think that’s the way you want to go.
Me: Then what would you suggest?
Angela: How about a gift card to Structure? Then he could get a nice sweater or something.
Me: You have clearly never met Kenny.

Anyway, I went with the quilt. Now, Kenny is right here next to me as I type this. I just asked him what he thought when I gave him a quilt after dating for less than 2 months. He said, “I liked it.” No, really dear, what did you think? “Well, I guess it was a little strange, but that’s OK!”

You know where that quilt is now? Wadded up in the garage. It wasn’t pieced together well, and it’s a big ol’ mess. But we still have it. You know what Kenny gave me that same Christmas? He gave me this:

100_2184

Really, whose gift was worse? I don’t even know. I can say with absolute certainty we didn’t stay with each other because of the presents. Sheesh. Pathetic! (Honey, you know I love that dolphin water globe music box!)

I digress. I decided to enroll in quilting at Joann’s. Tori refused. I had a great time picking out the fabric for my quilt. I planned to make it for Kennison so that she could have it when we finally met. I had a grand plan in my mind, as is so often the case. I even went ahead and paid for all three quilting levels so that I could go right through them all and complete my quilt.

The first class went OK. It mostly covered the tools one should use to make quilt-making easier. The 2nd class didn’t get off to a good start – as I was getting out of my car, I stepped in a pothole in the parking lot, twisted my ankle, and could not get off the ground. Luckily my cake decorating teacher happened to be walking by at the time, so she got my cell phone for me (still in the car) and stayed with me until Kenny could come and get me. I missed my 2nd class entirely.

So, I had sprained my ankle. I was on crutches. Just a few days later, we got “the call”: it was time to go to Vietnam! (About 2 months earlier than anyone predicted, I might add – God is good!) So, I obviously wasn’t going to have time to finish all of those quilting classes, because I was about to have a baby!

So, we traveled to Vietnam, we fell in love with Kennison, we came home, and settled into a routine. I didn’t even think about that quilt. It totally escaped me. I forgot that I had paid for these classes that I had yet to take. I was just busy with Kennison.

And then we found out we were pregnant with Colton. Quilt-making was over!

Fast forward to December 2008. I finally call Joann’s, and tell them I would like to take my classes now. With some annoyance, it was made possible for me to finish my classes. Of course, the quilt “pattern” had changed, so we had to make some adjustments, because I didn’t want to buy more fabric (I was totally in love with the orange/pink/yellow combo I already had). This was the end result:

IMG_5451

I totally love it! It has many errors, but it’s complete! I made my own binding (I was DETERMINED to do this!) and I love the way the whole quilt flows. I am very proud of it, but I’m not taking any up close pictures because you’ll see how crooked everything is and how wonky my shapes are. But I do love it from this distance. And you know what?

IMG_5448

Kennison loves it, too.

At dinner, I told Colton I’d make him one.

No one is holding their breath. By my calculations, I have at least 3 years to make it happen.

Yes, this quilt is truly a labor of love.

IMG_5440

Although, this guy was a labor of love, too.

IMG_5465

And, getting this little lady in the family was no small feat.

IMG_5463

But this quilt is a close third!

IMG_5441

5 Responses to “Labor of Love”


  1. September 14, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’m laughing so hard I can’t stand it. The quilt and the, um, dolphin, um situation? You guys are awesome! I love it!

    The quilt you made is beautiful, by the way. Very impressive. Also impressive is that it only took you three years to finish it. I still have $500 worth of scrap booking stuff I bought BEFORE our wedding to put everything together…almost nine years ago.

    Nice work!

  2. September 15, 2009 at 6:47 am

    What a beautiful quilt!! I love it! I too am impressed it only took 3 years… I have one too many “projects” sitting around!

  3. 3 Angela
    September 15, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    The quilt looks great. And what counts is that Kennison loves it.

    Btw, I think if Kenny had gotten a sweater at Structure it would still be in his closet, not in your garage. Just my humble opinion… 🙂

    Happy birthday!

  4. September 15, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    That is a GREAT quilt. That cake is pretty awesome too. You’ve got some talent.

  5. 5 Erin Walsh
    September 16, 2009 at 10:35 am

    You are so hilarious! I love the crazy gifts – you guys are clearly perfect together. And you are right, the quilt does look great, at least in the pics 🙂


Leave a Reply

Twittering away…

Blog Stats

  • 4,925 hits

Past posts

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

