30
Jan
09

Fitness Friday

I have joined a group called “Wii Fit Mommies” that encourages its members to get in better shape by using the Wii Fit. Since I recently purchased a Wii Fit, I thought it was just the group for me, as I would love to get in better shape! The Wii is so much fun, and exercise is NOT so much, so it seems like a great combination. I’ve been a Wii Fit user for a little more than two weeks now, and I am having a great time! Even though in the beginning  I was gaining weight each time I logged in, I’ve since shown a loss of 2.2 lbs! While I know this isn’t huge progress, I’m pleased to be exercising while playing video games – who ever would have guessed THAT would be possible? It has all sorts of fun activities, including a ski jump, hula hooping (that’s a verb, right?) and yoga poses. Right now I’m really enjoying a balance game where (on the screen) I wear a penguin costume and slide around on an ice burg catching fish for points. Kennison enjoys this game too – she lays on the floor in between the TV and me on the Wii Fit and slides around on her tummy, saying, “I swimmin’! I swimmin’!”

Kenny has even gotten in to the Wii Fit. He especially enjoys the ski jump, and since I now hold the high score, he’s working extra hard to beat me. I think the competition aspect of it really helps to keep both of us motivated. I am a very competitive person by nature, so knowing that I have headed more soccer balls than Kenny (another really fun game!) is a great feeling. Kenny is still the champion tight-rope walker, but that will change soon enough.

It’s hard to believe that doing things like hula hooping and slalom skiing could really improve a person’s health and strength, but it does! I can feel the muscles in my legs working, and I am almost always out of breath at the end of the 3 minute hula-hoop activity. Again, it’s fun – so it’s easy to forget the workout your body is getting. And, it doesn’t matter what the weather is like, because you’re inside. And I can do it while the kids nap. And I don’t have to push a stroller while I do it. And I don’t have to wear special clothes or worry about what I look like while I do that yoga pose with my rear up in the air. And I’ve already got everything I need, so there’s no additional cost. And – and this is the big thing – I’m out of excuses for NOT exercising. There is no reason to avoid it. It’s fun and (now) free and addictive and challenging and ever present and worth it.

I love my Wii Fit and I’m so glad that we purchased it. It’s a small (yet important) step on the way to better health for my family. I think that’s a great thing.

11 Responses to “Fitness Friday”


  1. January 30, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Glad you are enjoying it…and way to go on the loss! Sounds like you guys are having fun with it! I love being competitive too!

  2. 2 Kay
    January 30, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Good for you… sounds like you’re off to a great start! : )

  3. January 30, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    I’m so excited reading this post! That’s exactly how I felt when I started using this game. I can spend hours having fun and playing games and a few hours later, my parts feel that workout I got! So happy to have you join us and I look forward to reading your progress in the forum and on your site each Fitness Friday!

  4. January 30, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    JEALOUS!! I played the Wii Fit last Labor Day Weekend and have wanted one since, but Tim says we don’t need it. I may just go buy it for myself! Congrat’s on losing 2.2 lbs. That’s great. Keep up the good work, nay, play.

  5. January 30, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    You’ve described everything I love about the WiiFit! 😉 It’s a great tool to work out with, it really does the job, and it’s FUN! I’m looking forward to reading your weekly progress! 🙂

  6. January 30, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    I love having the Wii Fit. My only problem is having the motivation to do it everyday. Same as going to the gym. 😦

  7. January 30, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    It does sound like you’re off to a great start and I hope you really have found something that’s going to work for you. That is a great thing about it… it is so easy to do with your kids around. Only at my kids’ ages, I’m competing with them not only for time on it, but for 1st place.

    🙂

  8. January 30, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    That was my thought exactly…there is no longer an excuse not to work out (although it seems my body is working against me)…it is right there staring at me and its already paid for!

    I also like the competition with my husband…it makes me work harder.

    Keep up the good work!

  9. January 31, 2009 at 6:03 am

    So glad you’re enjoying your wii fit! If nothing else, it guves you a fun way to play some video games without turning into a couch spud!

    and…happy birthday to your wee one, right?

  10. January 31, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Great start! I agree, I didn’t think the hula hoop would be that great of a workout, but I feel my abs working like crazy! And my friend commented last night that my figure seems more “hourglass.” I was like, “REALLY?” It felt good. Anyway, keep up the good work!

  11. January 31, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Welcome to the group!!!
    Great job and keep up the good work!
    It makes such a difference if you have someone motivating and going along with you!
    Take Care


Leave a Reply

Twittering away…

Blog Stats

  • 4,919 hits

Past posts

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

