10
Jan
09

Happy 1st Birthday, Colton!

Newborn Colton.

Newborn Colton.

Sleeping Colton.

Sleeping Colton.

Today, my son, you are one year old. Oh how this past year has FLOWN by! When we found out we were going to have a baby, you could have knocked us over with a feather. We didn’t believe it was possible. In fact, it wasn’t until I was about half way through my pregnancy with you when we finallly started telling people we were going to have a baby. We just couldn’t believe we were going to be blessed with another baby so soon. How could anyone get so lucky?

Scary-eyed Colton. He used to make this face all the time!

Scary-eyed Colton. He used to make this face all the time!

We knew you were a boy for a long time before anyone else did, and it was fun keeping that secret. Everyone thought you’d probably be a boy, because men in your daddy’s family  just keep going on to have more men. In fact, for many, many years, every first-born in Daddy’s family  has been a boy. We were so excited to know we’d have a little girl and a little boy to love!

Angel-faced Colton.

Angel-faced Colton.

Did you know your name was going to be Thomas up until the last few weeks before you were born? I just couldn’t fall in love with that name, so Daddy and I came up with a different one. We love the name Colton Zachary, and we think it fits you perfectly!

Sitting Colton.

Sitting Colton.

Even though we love the name we chose for you, we also adore Kennison’s nickname for you- Coco. We still call you that, and I often wonder how long you’ll put up with it.

Tie-dye Colton.

Tie-dye Colton.

This first year with you has been amazing. I love that I’ve had the chance to be a mommy in two ways: to a child born far away, to another woman, but who ended up in my arms for me to love and cherish, and to you: who I carried with me for 9 months before finally seeing your beautiful face in person. I’m so glad I had those nine months to share with you, when it was just me and you; now Daddy’s
your favorite and I don’t get near as much quality time as I used to!

Nana's Colton.

Nana's Colton.

You were so handsome when you were born – everyone said you looked just like me! 🙄 It was true, though – Granddad and Nana brought my baby book for us to look at, and sure enough, if we had put a pink bow in your hair, no one would have been able to tell us apart! As you’ve gotten older, you have certainly taken on more of the look of your daddy’s family. When people see you and your cousin Jack together, they often ask if you’re twins! You also look a lot like your cousin Braden.

Silly Colton.

Silly Colton.

I have loved watching you reach so many milestones this year. You have always been a very happy baby, so your first laugh was fun to hear! You have always been a great sleeper and very easy going, though lately you’ve really started to show your temper. When you don’t get something you want, you get SO MAD! When you started crawling, it was at a very slow pace- you certainly weren’t in any hurry! Aunt Tori said it was sneaky slow; she would look away from you, not expecting you to get anywhere, but by the time she turned around you were in to something!

Crawling Colton.

Crawling Colton.

Climbing Colton.

Climbing Colton.

You haven’t really started walking yet. You seem hesitant to try, but we know you’ll be walking soon, and then running to keep up with Kennison! How you love to play with her – she is definitely the funniest person you know, and you know lots of funny people. It is obvious how much you love your sister and want to do the things she does. Daddy and I know we are in for trouble in a few years when you two can really gang up on us!

Tiger Colton. (Sorry, Granddad!)

Tiger Colton. (Sorry, Granddad!)

Being your mommy has been a great gift to me. I look forward to watching you grow and change, and helping you learn and shape yourself for the man you want to be. Man! I don’t want to think about you being a man! You are my baby, my big boy, my handsome little guy, my Cocobean – and I will always love you!    

Happy birthday little man,

Your adoring Mommy

 

 

Evermore I will love you,
Evermore I will stay,
Ever right here to hold you,
Never so far away.
And though I know sometimes you’ll go
To find your way alone,
Evermore I will love you,
You are ever my own.

 –Evermore, written by Sandra Boynton

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, COLTON!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, COLTON!

2 Responses to “Happy 1st Birthday, Colton!”


  1. January 10, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Happy birthday sweet Coco! We love you lots and lots! Jack says, “Being one is awesome, just wait! Let’s get into lots of trouble together, ok buddy?”

    Love,
    Aunt Tata, Uncle Mikey and Jack

  2. 2 Angela
    January 11, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Happy birthday, Colton! 20 years from now, I’ll buy you a beer. Actually, don’t tell you parents, but if you really want one, I’ll buy you one 17 years from now, too 😉

    Love,
    Auntie Ang


Leave a Reply

Twittering away…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 4,926 hits

Past posts

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

