20
Mar
08

Another trip to the ER…

…but this time it was for me, not Kennison! Yes folks, I now have no gall bladder.

kennison-and-colton-118.jpg

Did you know that people don’t even NEED their gall bladder? Yeah. It’s one of those useless organs. Why does God give us these organs that are unnecessary? Can’t they be phased out? All they do is cause trouble!

To make a long story (and a long day) shorter, I will just say that two weeks ago I woke up in the middle of the night with a TERRIBLE pain. I thought I was having a heart attack. We were on our way out the door to go to the ER when the pain stopped. I told Kenny I would skip work and go to urgent care to get diagnosed. I had a kidney scan and they decided it wasn’t kidney stones, but thought it could be my gall bladder. They couldn’t do a sonogram to check because you have to have not eaten for 4 hours for the test to be accurate. Instead they ordered blood work, but the blood work showed nothing abnormal. The urgent care doctor told me to follow up with my primary care physician, and that if it happened again, to go to the ER.

kennison-and-colton-119.jpgSo, I set up an appointment with my PCP for Wednesday (yesterday). But, yesterday morning at about 2:15, I was awakened with the pain again. It wasn’t as intense, but it lasted longer. We called Tori to come stay with our kiddos (because Tori had said last time if we ever DID have to go to the ER in the middle of the night that we should call her instead of dragging the little ones out) and Kenny and I headed to the ER. Pretty quickly they diagnosed me with gall stones, gave me some FANTASTIC pain medication (which apparently caused me to slur my speech, so it was good stuff!) and they removed my gall bladder. I was out of the hospital by 8:30 that night (because I wasn’t having any complications and because I was receiving poor care, so I thought I’d be better off at home). My mom was good enough to come down from Des Moines to help care for me and the kids (mostly the kids). I feel pretty good today, and I’ve now had about 35 hours without my gall bladder. I can’t say I feel any different. It really must not be that important. I do feel like someone has taken to my stomach with a crowbar, but it’s NOTHING compared to the recovery from the c-section. I will be fine!

kennison-and-colton-125.jpgOn a lighter note, Colton visited the pediatrician for his 2 month check up on Tuesday. He weighs 12 lbs 10.5 ounces and is 23.25 inches long. He is in the 50-75 percentile for weight, length, and head circumference. The nurse practitioner told me he was perfect. Well, that’s what we’ve been saying all along! Here are some pictures from the last couple of days. There is also a video of Kennison dancing to the first track of the “Dog Train” CD. The adult in the background is Aunt Tori, in case you can’t tell. 🙂

1 Response to “Another trip to the ER…”


  1. March 21, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Oh, I’m SOOO glad you posted that video of me dancing with Kennison. It’s so not embarassing.


Leave a Reply

Twittering away…

Blog Stats

  • 4,925 hits

Past posts

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

