19
Feb
08

Kennison used the big girl potty!

As I sit writing this, pride is just exuding from every pore of my body! I had no idea a little pee could make a parent so proud. Yes, my friends – Kennison used her potty!colton-001-1.jpgcolton-001-1.jpgkennison-011-1.jpg 

The evening started out normally enough – Mike, Tori, and Jack came over for dinner. Tori, Mike, and Kenny entertained the children while I made the pizzas. Tori asked what we’re going to do when she and Mike have another kid – who’s going to be free to make dinner? Kenny suggested Kennison will be able to make dinner and watch Colton at the same time so he can take a nap. Ha ha. These three are a handful as is! Sorry, Tori, I just don’t think you and Mike will be able to have another child until we hire permanent help for the kids we have or one of them goes to college. You’re just going to have to wait. 🙂

kennison-003-1.jpg kennison-1.jpg

Anyway, Kennison was being her usual cute self (see above pictures). We played until about 8:00, and then it was time to take a bath and go to bed. Kenny was nominated to give Kennison her bath because I was feeding Colton at the time. colton-001-1.jpgThe routine is this: we get Kennison undressed to her diaper in her room, then go into the bathroom to run the water for her bath. Once in there, we take her diaper off and have her sit on her training potty until it’s time to get in the bath tub (we are doing this because last week Kennison peed on the floor while waiting to get into the tub). We haven’t started “training” her to use the toilet yet, but we have had her potty sitting in the bathroom for a couple of weeks, and she loves to go in the bathroom with us when we are using the potty. We talk about how big girls use the potty and some day soon, she’ll use the big girl potty, too. Well, Kenny was running her bath water and had her sitting on her toilet. He told her that she could go potty. A minute later, he asked if she had gone potty, and she said she had. When he looked, there were a few small drops in the toilet! When he told me, I couldn’t believe it – I thought surely it was an accident! But, she did use her potty – and I am VERY PROUD of her! We’re not really in “training” right now, because with the new baby, it seemed like it could be a rough time to try something else that’s new. But, maybe she’s ready. We’ll have to see if she can do it again, or if it was really just a coincidence. Until we find out, I am proud to say I have a daughter that can use the potty. Wouldn’t it be GREAT to be at the end of the diaper-buying stage for her? We know we have a long way to go with Colton, so if Kennison is ready to move to big-girl underwear, that would be fine with us! Below is a picture of Kennison enjoying her “I-went-pee-in-my-potty” sucker. YAY FOR KENNISON!!!

kennison-017.jpg

4 Responses to “Kennison used the big girl potty!”


  1. 1 Amy
    February 20, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Allison –

    Wow, what a beautiful family you have! I love the blog and the pictures and hearing all the fun things you are doing. I will be home at the beginning of March and I want to see everyone!!

  2. February 20, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I am so proud of Ms. Kennison!!! And I’m glad that I finally had my picture taken with Colton.

  3. 3 Tiffany
    February 22, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Hey Allison! Your blog looks great! We’re trying to get Judah interested in the potty but no success yet. Great job Kennison!!!

  4. 4 Angela
    February 23, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Keep the adorable photos of Kennison and Colton coming! Inquiring eyes in Seattle want to see. Congrats, Ms. Kennison! I hope this means we’ve had our last dirty diaper experience together 😉


Leave a Reply

Twittering away…

Blog Stats

  • 4,919 hits

Past posts

February 2008
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

